KARNATAKA STATE COUNCIL FOR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE, BANGALORE

NATIONAL SCIENCE DAY - 2013

Theme: Genetically Modified Crops and Food Security

Date : 28th February, 2013 **Venue** : J. N. Tata Auditorium,

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

INAUGURAL FUNCTION

9.30~AM-10.30~AM : **Registration**

10.30 AM - 10.35 AM : **Invocation**

10.35 AM - 10.40 AM : Welcome and Introduction

Dr. S. G. Sreekanteswara Swamy

Fellow, KSCST

10.40 AM - 10.55 AM : Inauguration and Address

Prof M. Mahadevappa Former Vice Chancellor

University of Agricultural Sciences

Dharwar

10.55 AM – 11.10 AM : Presidential Remarks

Prof. M. S. Mohan Kumar

Secretary, KSCST and Professor

Dept. of Civil Engineering

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

11.10 AM - 11.15 AM : **Vote of Thanks**

Shri S. N. Sondur Fellow, KSCST

TECHNICAL SESSIONS

11.30 AM - 12.00 PM : Prof M. Mahadevappa

Former Vice Chancellor

University of Agricultural Sciences

Dharwar

12.00 PM - 12.30 PM : Dr. M. S. Rao

Scientist

Indian Institute of Horticultural

Research, Bangalore

12.30 PM -01.00 PM : Prof. P. H. Ramanjani Gowda

Dept. Of Biotechnology

University of Agricultural Sciences

GKVK, Bangalore

1.00 PM - 2.00 PM : **Lunch**

2.00 PM - 3.00 PM : Interaction with the Students by

Padma Awardees

2.00 PM – 2.15 PM : Prof. Roddam Narasimha, FRS

Honorary Professor

Engineering Mechanics Unit

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced

Scientific Research, Bangalore

2.15 PM – 2.30 PM : Dr. B. N. Suresh

Former Director, VSSC and Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor,

ISRO

2.30 PM – 2.45 PM : Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood

Dept. of Physics

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

2.45 PM – 3.00 PM : Prof. Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan

Dept. of Genetics and Development National Centre for Biological Sciences

Bangalore

VALEDICTORY AND PRIZE DISTRIBUTION FUNCTION AND HONORING PADMA AWARDEES-2013

3.00 PM - 3.05 PM : **Welcome**

Prof. M. S. Mohan Kumar

Secretary, KSCST and Professor Department of Civil Engineering, IISc

3.05 PM- 3.15 PM : Address by Chief Guest

Sri I. S. N. Prasad, I. A. S

Principal Secretary to Government

Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology and

Science & Technology Government of Karnataka

3.15 PM - 3.30 PM : **Honoring of Padma Awardees-2013**

Prof. R. Narasimha (Padma Vibhushan) Dr. B. N. Suresh (Padma Bhushan) Prof. Ajay K. Sood (Padma Shri) Prof. K. VijayRaghavan (Padma Shri)

3.30 PM - 3.40 PM : Response by Padma Awardees

3.40 PM - 3.50 PM : Presidential Address

Prof. P. Balaram

Director, Indian Institute of Science Chairman, Executive Committee,

KSCST

3.50 PM – 4.10 PM : Prize Distribution

4.10 PM - 4.15 PM : Vote of Thanks

Dr. M. Prithviraj

Executive Secretary, KSCST

NSD-2013

Supported by:

Rashtriya Vigyan Evam Prodyogiki Sanchar Parishad,
Department of Science and Technology,
Government of India, New Delhi
Department of Science and Technology,
Government of Karnataka